Impôts.gouv

Since 2009, the Seine-Saint-Denis County Council has been backing “la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC)”. This project is based to a large extent on the presence in class for several weeks (40 hours) of an artist or scientist whose mission is to engage the students in a process of research and creation.

 

Contributors:
Economists

Project Manager:
Lucille Negre

 

Objectives:
The students are asked to devise a portrait of France based on the question “What constitutes a good tax?” To answer this, the classes will be responsible for conducting an inquiry – inevitably partial and somewhat subjective – but nevertheless as close as possible to the economic and social realities raised by the issue.

Workshop:
Agreements and disagreements
Today’s taxes are the result of a long political and cultural history that the students will study in detail. Using a timeline of major events, they analyse the emergence of taxation based on principles that they examine: citizenship, equality, solidarity and consent. But taxation also raises a great deal of controversy. The contributor and students study a body of speeches, demands and political decisions before picking out the main arguments and ideas put forward by each.  

The good, the fair and the tax
Who pays what? Using practical examples (single person, family, couple, business owner, minimum-wage employee, manager), the class measures the impact of fiscality on the incomes of these different profiles. The students visualise the social and economic effects of taxation and measure potential inequalities. Then, using graphs and tables, they outline the policy of redistribution in France. Admittedly, effective taxation requires a high yield, but it must also contribute to national solidarity. What do these figures tell us on a national scale? Do the students think resources are redistributed fairly?

Possible futures
Well informed after this research, the group conducts some experiments adjusting the essential parameters to devise different systems: changing tax rates, removing tax brackets, widening tax bases, adding taxes, etc. But to what ends? The students are then able to take a position and understand the topic’s main issues. They can offer their vision of “good” tax and the values it assumes. At the end, the students explain what our taxes say about who we are and what we collectively want.

 

Participating Schools:
- EDOUARD HERRIOT, LIVRY GARGAN
- FRANÇOIS MITTÉRAND, NOISY LE GRAND

 

Photos: DAMIEN DELDICQUE, JÉRÔME AUBRY & ALEXANDRE SCHUBNEL, LABORATOIRE DE GÉOLOGIE DE L’ENS PARIS. 

Impôts.gouv
Impôts.gouv
Impôts.gouv

Impôts.gouv

Depuis 2009, le Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis soutient « la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC) ». Cette démarche repose en grande partie sur la présence, en classe et pendant plusieurs semaines (40h), d’un artiste ou d’un scientifique ayant pour mission d’engager les élèves dans un processus de recherche et de création.

 

Intervenants :
Économistes

Chargée de projet :
Lucille Negre

 

Objectifs :
Il est proposé aux élèves de concevoir un portrait de la France à partir de la question : qu’est-ce qu’un bon impôt ? Pour cela, les classes vont être saisies d’une démarche d’enquête, nécessairement partielle et un peu subjective, mais néanmoins au plus près des réalités économiques et sociales que soulève le sujet.

Atelier:
Accords et désaccords
Les impôts d’aujourd’hui sont le résultat d’une longue histoire politique et culturelle sur laquelle il convient de se pencher. À l’aide d’une chronologie des évènements marquants, les élèves analysent l’émergence d’une imposition basée sur des principes qu’il s’agira de d’interroger : citoyenneté, égalité, solidarité, consentement. Mais l’imposition soulève aussi de nombreuses polémiques. Intervenant et élèves étudient un corpus de discours, de revendications et de décisions politiques. Il s’agira d’en extraire les principaux arguments et idées défendues par chacun.

Le bon, le juste et l’impôt
Qui paye quoi ? En se basant sur des cas pratiques (célibataire, famille, couple, chef d’entreprise, salarié au SMIC, cadre) la classe mesure l’impact de la fiscalité sur les revenus de ces différents profils. Ils visualisent les effets sociaux et économiques de l’imposition et mesure les potentielles inégalités. Puis, à l’aide de graphiques et de tableaux, la classe dessine la politique de redistribution menée en France. Un impôt efficace doit avoir un bon rendement. Certes, mais il doit aussi participer de la solidarité nationale. Que racontent ces chiffres à l’échelle du pays ? Les ressources sont-elles justement redistribuées selon nos élèves ?

Quels avenirs ?
Fort de ces recherches, le groupe mène quelques expériences. Il s’agit de faire jouer des paramètres essentiels pour imaginer d’autres systèmes : modification des taux, disparition de barèmes, élargissement des assiettes, ajout de taxes, etc., mais pour quels résultats ? La classe est désormais en mesure de se situer et de comprendre les grands enjeux liés au sujet. Elle peut donner sa vision du « bon » impôt et des valeurs qu’il suppose. À la fin, les élèves auront à nous expliquer ce que disent nos impôts de ce que nous sommes et de ce que nous voulons collectivement.

 

Collèges :
- EDOUARD HERRIOT, LIVRY GARGAN
- FRANÇOIS MITTÉRAND, NOISY LE GRAND

 

Photos: DAMIEN DELDICQUE, JÉRÔME AUBRY & ALEXANDRE SCHUBNEL, LABORATOIRE DE GÉOLOGIE DE L’ENS PARIS. 

Impôts.gouv
Impôts.gouv
Impôts.gouv