F93

F93 is an association for scientific and technical culture based in Montreuil (Seine-Saint-Denis).

It sees scientific and technical culture not as a belonging to the domain of communication nor as a sector close to teaching or education but rather as the complex whole formed by the traces of a practice – the practice of science and techniques  - in which the role of the “public” is both insistent and imperceptible, unknown and yet recognised. From this point of view, it could be said that, above all, the association examines the circumstances of the situation – in which cases, where, when and how do science and techniques run into the issue of the “public”?

On a day-to-day basis, F93 constantly strives to introduce a close relationship between science, techniques and culture – sometimes to the extent that the notions blend into one another. It is not, however, a question of moving from science to techniques, from science to culture or from culture to technique, or even of creating a false unity between science, technique and culture – no-one wants that. F93 prefers to have an effect by changing perceptions: “science, technique and culture” are all three considered, defined and worked on together, on the one hand to avoid too simple a description of the activity of science and techniques, or to apply “exterior” interventions to these two fields, and on the other hand, to create approaches that are not the simple projection of science and techniques onto a “culture” that is thought of as a sister, but a “poor, dumb” sister.

Every season, the association sets itself the task of formulating a premise that is not usually considered in the subjects it tackles, but one that is, nevertheless, perfectly suited to them.  It involves addressing science or techniques but in a cultural way. This is done by making use of a large amount of knowledge and know-how; in this way, amidst the proposed initiatives, here and there we can pick out knowledge that is historical, geographical, social, technical, artistic, anthropological, etc. This approach could be called “general” or “universal” in that this knowledge and know-how are constantly revolving and exchanging within our activities, with none being set in stone, none promoted above the others.  It is, then, about reinforcing a relationship with science and techniques that could be qualified as indirect. Partly because of the inevitably incomplete nature of any knowledge – an aspect that leads the association to develop its work that is not “on” a subject but “between” subjects, work that lies in the interstices, always behind or ahead of the knowledge that interests it. And partly to bring to mind that the scientific or technical content at work in projects, even if it is essential to them, is never an objective in itself; in the eyes of F93, a process should not say that it knows something about such and such a discipline or branch of knowledge but rather that it knows about something, that it knows something about something…  

 

The association F93
DANIEL VÉRON, CHAIRMAN
HENRI BORENTIN, TREASURER
NATHALIE VAGUER, SECRETARY GENERAL
CHANTAL LÉVY, BOARD OF DIRECTORS
MARIE-CLAIRE FILLOT, BOARD OF DIRECTORS
JOËL PAUBEL, BOARD OF DIRECTORS
CLAIRE RANNOU, BOARD OF DIRECTORS
SERGE ROBINEAU, BOARD OF DIRECTORS

 

Permanent staff
MARC BOISSONNADE, DIRECToR
M.BOISSONNADE@F93.FR
CLAIRE HAZART, ADMINISTRATIVE and financial director 
C.HAZART@F93.FR
STÉPHANE COULAUD, project manager
S.COULAUD@F93.FR
MATHIEU MARION, project manager
M.MARION@F93.FR
ANNA MEZEY, project manager
A.MEZEY@F93.FR

 

F93
70 rue Douy Delcupe - 93100 Montreuil - France
Tel: 00 33 (0)1 49 88 66 33 / Fax: 00 33 (0)1 49 88 66 55

This page displays images from the series Formats Perdus made by photographer Pierre Antoine, invited by F93 to collaborate with a carte blanche.

About
About
About

F93

F93 est une association de culture scientifique et technique située à Montreuil (Seine-Saint-Denis). 

Elle conçoit la culture scientifique et technique, non comme un domaine de la communication, ni même comme un secteur proche de l’enseignement ou de l’éducation, mais comme l’ensemble complexe formé par les traces d’une pratique - la pratique des sciences et des techniques - dans laquelle la place du « public » est à la fois insistante et irrepérable, inconnue et cependant reconnue. De ce point de vue, on peut considérer que l’association s’intéresse avant tout aux circonstances de la situation : dans quels cas, où, quand, et comment, les sciences et les techniques rencontrent-elles la question du « public » ?

Au quotidien, F93 n’a de cesse d’introduire une forte proximité entre les sciences, les techniques et la culture, au point de fondre parfois ces notions les unes dans les autres. Il ne s’agit pas, cependant, de passer des sciences aux techniques, des sciences à la culture ou de la culture à la technique, ni même de créer une fausse unité entre science, technique et culture ; personne ne le souhaite. F93 préfère opérer en changeant de perception : « science, technique et culture » sont conçues, sont définies et sont travaillées toutes les trois ensemble, d’une part pour éviter de décrire trop simplement l’activité des sciences et des techniques, ou d’appliquer à ces deux domaines des intentions venues du « dehors », et d’autre part pour créer des démarches qui ne soient pas la simple projection des sciences et des techniques dans la culture, elle même considérée comme une sœur, mais toujours « muette et pauvre ».

Chaque saison, l’association se donne pour tâche de former un propos qui n’est pas donné dans les sujets qu’elle traite et qui pourtant ne convient qu’à eux. Il s’agit de faire prise avec les sciences ou les techniques mais de façon culturelle. Cela passe par l’utilisation d’un nombre important de savoirs et savoirs faire ; on peut ainsi repérer, ça et là, parmi les initiatives proposées, un savoir historique, géographique, social, technique, artistique, anthropologique, etc. Cette approche pourrait être dite « généraliste » tant ces savoirs et savoirs faire ne cessent de tourner et de permuter au sein de nos activités, aucun n’étant jamais fixé, aucun n’étant jamais privilégié. Il est ainsi question de conforter une relation aux sciences et aux techniques que l’on pourrait qualifier d’indirecte. D’une part, en raison du caractère forcément inaccompli de tout savoir ; un aspect qui conduit l’association à développer un travail qui n’est pas « sur » mais « entre », un travail placé dans les interstices, toujours en retard ou en avance sur les savoirs qui l’intéresse. Et d’autre part, pour rappeler que les contenus scientifiques ou techniques mobilisés dans les projets, même s’ils leurs sont essentiels, ne constituent jamais un objectif en soi ; aux yeux de F93, une démarche ne doit pas dire qu’elle sait quelque chose de telle discipline ou de tel savoir, mais plutôt qu’elle sait de quelque chose, qu’elle en sait quelque chose. 

 

L’association F93
DANIEL VÉRON, PRÉSIDENT
HENRI BORENTIN, TRÉSORIER
NATHALIE VAGUER, SECRÉTAIRE  GÉNERALE
CHANTAL LÉVY, CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
MARIE-CLAIRE FILLOT, CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
JOËL PAUBEL, CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
CLAIRE RANNOU, CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
SERGE ROBINEAU, CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION

 

L'équipe permanente
Marc Boissonnade, directeur
m.boissonnade@f93.fr
Claire Hazart, directrice administrative et financière
c.hazart@f93.fr
Stéphane Coulaud, chargé de projets
s.coulaud@f93.fr
Mathieu Marion, chargé de projets
m.marion@f93.fr
Anna Mezey, chargée de projets
a.mezey@f93.fr

 

F93
70 rue Douy Delcupe - 93100 Montreuil - France
Tél: 01 49 88 66 33 / Fax: 01 49 88 66 55

Cette page accueille des images extraites de la série Formats Perdus réalisée par le photographe Pierre Antoine.

Présentation
Présentation
Présentation