OK computer

OK Computer

Since 2009, the Seine-Saint-Denis County Council has been backing “la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC)”. This project is based to a large extent on the presence in class for several weeks (40 hours) of an artist or scientist whose mission is to engage the students in a process of research and creation.

 

Contributor:
Maker

Project Manager:
Mathieu Marion

 

Objectives:
Since the 1990s, playing video games has become widespread. Like any mainstream trend, it also has its more experimental fringes. This is the fun, artistic movement that the students will be rubbing shoulders with for the duration of the project, which intends to be an exhilarating version of the “human-machine” relationship. Using “Makey Makey” electronic cards and “Scratch” programming software, the class will explore new ways to interact with gaming by creating new interfaces, finding new ways of using one’s body to control the machine, etc.

The project is divided into two phases.

Workshop:
Remote control?
During this phase, the students test several tools proposed by the contributors. This does not involve complex programming but instead, diversion in every direction using the Makey Makey, taking control of a PC using any material that conducts electricity. Anything can become a keyboard that can control a computer’s tasks: Plasticine, a compass, a classmate, fruit and vegetables as well as metals and liquids. The students examine video games through experimenting, learning how to offer a new gaming experience using simple tools. By combining the exploration of Makey Makey with the use of the Scratch software, the students learn about basic algorithms and how to use code as a means of expression to translate their imagination and experiments.

Ok computer
For this phase of the project, the students set to work developing their own interface. The contributor accompanies the group in its reflections to design freer creations, encouraging more personal themes and far more experimental processing. Three main avenues of investigation run through the class’ commission: how do you play? What’s the story? Where do you play? Subverting the rules by creating new controls and new rules, making a single-player game a multiplayer one, using space… The students are confronted with the mechanics of video games, their codes, their technologies and their imaginary worlds. Creating real sensations for the player, whether visual, audio or physical, is the key to this exercise.  

 

Participating School:
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Rosny-sous-bois

 

Photos: DAMIEN DELDICQUE, JÉRÔME AUBRY & ALEXANDRE SCHUBNEL, LABORATOIRE DE GÉOLOGIE DE L’ENS PARIS. 

OK computer
OK computer

OK computer

Depuis 2009, le Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis soutient « la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC) ». Cette démarche repose en grande partie sur la présence, en classe et pendant plusieurs semaines (40h), d’un artiste ou d’un scientifique ayant pour mission d’engager les élèves dans un processus de recherche et de création.

 

Intervenant-e:
Maker

Chargé de projet:
Mathieu Marion

 

Objectifs:
Depuis les années 90, le jeu vidéo est une pratique commune. Comme tout phénomène de masse, il a aussi ses marges, plus expérimentales. C’est cette mouvance, artistique et ludique que les élèves vont côtoyer tout au long de l’atelier. Ce projet s’entend comme une version jubilatoire de la relation « Humain/machine». Grâce à l’utilisation de cartes électroniques « Makey Makey » et du logiciel de programmation « Scratch », la classe va explorer de nouvelles manières d’interagir avec le jeu : fabriquer de nouvelles interfaces, trouver de nouvelles manières d’utiliser son cops pour contrôler la machine….
Deux temps organisent le parcours

Atelier
Remote control ?
Lors de cette phase les élèves vont être amenés à tester plusieurs outils proposés par les intervenants. Ici, pas de programmation complexe, mais du détournement tous azimuts grâce à une prise en main de Makey Makey, il va s’agir prendre le contrôle d’un PC à l’aide de tous matériaux conducteurs d’électricité. Tout deviendra clavier capable de diriger les tâches d’un ordinateur : de la pâte à modeler, un compas, un camarade de classe, des fruits, des légumes, mais aussi les métaux et les liquides…  Il va s'agir d'interroger les jeux vidéo par expérimentation, comment à partir d’outils simple proposer une nouvelle expérience de jeux. En associant la découverte de Makey Makey à l’utilisation de du logiciel Scratch, les élèves découvrent des algorithmes simples et se servent du code comme un moyen d’expression traduisant leur imagination et expériences.

Ok computer
Les élèves vont s’atteler lors de cette partie de l’atelier au développement de leur propre interface. L’intervenant va accompagner le groupe à réfléchir des créations plus relâchées, les thématiques plus personnelles et le traitement beaucoup plus expérimental seront encouragées. Trois lignes principales de questionnement parcourent cette commande faite à la classe : comment jouer ? que raconter ? où jouer ? détourner les règles en créant de nouveaux contrôles, de nouvelles règles, en rendant multijoueur un jeu solo, en jouant sur l’espace… c’est à ces mécaniques du jeu vidéo, à ses codes, a ses technologies et ses imaginaires que la classe va être confronté. Créer de réelles sensations pour le joueur, qu’elles soient visuelles, sonores ou musculaires voilà tout l’enjeux de cet exercice.

 

Collège:
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Rosny-sous-bois

 

Photos: DAMIEN DELDICQUE, JÉRÔME AUBRY & ALEXANDRE SCHUBNEL, LABORATOIRE DE GÉOLOGIE DE L’ENS PARIS. 

OK computer
OK computer