Houston 69

Since 2009, the Seine-Saint-Denis County Council has been backing “la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC)”. This project is based to a large extent on the presence in class for several weeks (40 hours) of an artist or scientist whose mission is to engage the students in a process of research and creation.

 

Contributors: stage director

 

Objectives:
For the first time, in July 1969 – the 20th, to be exact – men walked on the moon. They stayed there for 21 and ½ hours. During this time, they communicated with Space Center Houston by radio. The transcripts of these conversations constitute an exceptional source to try and imagine what happened “up there”.

Workshops:
The Eagle has Landed
Firstly, what history has retained of the Apollo 11 mission: the students and contributor watch and read the various accounts from that time that are still available and choose those that most interest them. Then “what my parents and grandparents remember” - recollections, memories and hearsay are gathered by the students and recorded. Lastly, “what my friends think about it –what does my generation feel about the first step on the moon today?”  A Skype conversation with a current member of the NASA brings this initial phase of the project to a close.

Sea of Tranquillity
The class has a major source – diverse with regard to the people, dates, knowledge and memories, but homogenous with regard to the theme: it’s all about 20th July 1969. The contributor guides the students to link up these sources, invent situations and create connections so that an audience can relive the exploit. As the ideas develop, a narrative takes shape, and it is the narrative itself that decides upon the means: actors, readers and images as well as movements, gestures and sound.  

Neil, Edwin and Michael
The class has access to a theatre stage for the day. They set up the different situations and sequence them. Technical and dramatic interactions are also adjusted: sound, video and lighting. A full run-through of the performance concludes the day.

 

Drawings: JACQUES FLORET

Houston 69
Houston 69
Houston 69
Houston 69
Houston 69

Houston 69

Depuis 2009, le Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis soutient « la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC) ». Cette démarche repose en grande partie sur la présence, en classe et pendant plusieurs semaines (40h), d’un artiste ou d’un scientifique ayant pour mission d’engager les élèves dans un processus de recherche et de création.

 

Intervenants : metteur en scène

 

Objectifs :
Pour la première fois, en juillet 1969, le 20 exactement, des hommes ont posé le pied sur la Lune. Ils y sont restés 21 heures 30. Au cours de cette période, ils ont communiqué par radio avec le centre spatial de Houston. Ces échanges, consignées par écrit, restent aujourd’hui encore un matériau exceptionnel pour tenter d’imaginer ce qui s’est passé « là-haut ».

Séances en atelier :
The eagle has landed
D’abord, ce que l’histoire a gardé de la mission Apollo 11 : élèves et intervenant regardent et lisent les différents témoignages d’époque encore à disposition et sélectionnent ceux qui les marquent. Ensuite, ce que mes parents et grands-parents ont retenu : mémoire, souvenir, ouï-dire sont rapportés par les élèves et consignés. Enfin, ce que mes amis en pensent : comment ma génération ressent-elle aujourd’hui ce premier pas sur la Lune ? Un échange par skype avec un membre actuel de la Nasa permet de clore cette première phase.

Tranquility Base
La classe dispose d’un important matériel, certes hétérogène du point de vue des personnes, des dates, des savoirs, des souvenirs, mais homogène au regard du thème : tout parle de ce 20 juillet 1969. L’intervenant guide les élèves pour relier ces matériaux, inventer des situations, créer des correspondances, de manière à ce qu’un public puisse revivre cet exploit. Au fur et à mesure des idées, se dresse un récit qui lui-même appelle des moyens : acteurs, lecteurs, images, mais aussi mouvements, gestes, son.

Neil, Edwin and Michael
Pendant une journée, la classe dispose d’un plateau de théâtre. Il s’agit de mettre en place les différentes situations et de les enchainer les unes avec les autres. On règle également les interactions techniques et dramatiques : son, vidéo, lumière. Un filage complet de la performance doit terminer la journée.

 

Dessins: JACQUES FLORET

Houston 69
Houston 69
Houston 69
Houston 69
Houston 69