Planetarium

Since 2009, the Seine-Saint-Denis County Council has been backing “la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC)”. This project is based to a large extent on the presence in class for several weeks (40h) of an artist or scientist whose mission is to engage the students in a process of research and creation. 

 

Tutors: Virginie Batista, ALAIN RIAZUELO/ astrophysicists IAP

Project manager: Stéphane Coulaud

 

Objectives:
Is our solar system unique? It would be surprising if other stars were not surrounded by planets, and some of these planets may be able to support life. Current techniques are not capable of detecting another Earth in the vicinity of a star, but great progress has been made in research into extrasolar planets. Using astrophysicists’ data, the students have to design a planetarium to represent our system and compare it with other systems further away.  

Workshops:
The workshop opened with a short introductory sequence of questions and answers between the contributor and the students about their representations of what we mean by astrophysics and astronomy.
This was followed by a long sequence studying the solar system – used as a kind of “astronomic benchmark” – and an exoplanetary system. This phase focused on documentary research, calculations, written descriptions, etc. The students studied three exoplanetary systems among the thousands that exist: Trappist, Kepler-11 and Kepler-90.
These systems were chosen because they meet several material criteria: they have been sufficiently researched scientifically for it to be possible to have a precise and valuable understanding of them; they are compact systems that can be adapted to a “humanly” realistic dimension to create a reproduction of them; and they have a reasonable number of planets in addition to the star (6 and 7 for the Kepler-11 and Kepler-90 systems, and 7 for the Trappist system). Once the selection had been made, the students began a study of the systems. 

A technical specification sheet was drawn up for each planet (Kepler-11b, Kepler-11c, Kepler-90b, Kepler-90c, etc.) from each system (Kepler-11 or Kepler-90): identification of the system (e.g. Kepler-11); name of the planet (e.g. Kepler-11b); distance from the sun (e.g. 0.091astronomical units, or 13.6 million km); the planet’s radius (e.g. 1.8 or 11,480 km) and mass (e.g. 1.9 land mass); size of orbit (e.g. 1.82m) and of the planet (e.g. 0.31cm) to the scale of  1/7500000000; the star’s presence in the habitable zone.
Each astronomical object’s specification sheet was completed by a short commentary.

In addition to this documentary work, the students made mathematical calculations, since the project also involves assessing the distances separating the planets from the system’s star or, for example, calculating the distances between a system’s various astronomical objects or its distance from the solar system. These calculations helped the students grasp distances that are often perceived as abstract on a human scale. 
Lastly, some of the technical specification sheets were enriched with graphics and artists’ impressions suggested by the students. Once the sheets included all the information, they were displayed using brackets to support stars and planets in a reproduction of the systems. 

Exhibition:
From 2nd – 6th June 2017, the reproduction of the Planetarium circuit was on display at the Georges-Valbon Departmental Park as an installation on the ground. In light of the dimensions required for a representation on a realistic scale (1:7500000000), the “Grande Circulaire” parkland in the middle of the park near Édouard-Glissant House was chosen. The orbits of the four astronomical systems were traced on the ground and represented with coloured straps of yellow (Kepler-90), red (Trappist), blue (Kepler-11) and white (solar system). The represented systems were put in place on June 1st: 1,000 metal posts were planted to outline each system and their orbits were represented with approximately 5,000 metres of straps.
The students from the 3 classes spent the entire morning completing the installation, placing planets and stars in the orbits using wooden brackets from which they hung balls to scale. The layout was determined by calculations made earlier in the classroom. Orientation tables set out next to the installation made it possible to situate each system in relation to the others. 

Acknowledgements:
Hélène Lescure, Reception & Promotion - Georges-Valbon Departmental Park; Nature Department; Landscapes & Biodiversity/Seine-Saint-Denis County Council; Marie Thibault, Technician Facilitator, Heritage & Environment: Georges-Valbon Departmental Park, Nature Department; Landscapes & Biodiversity/Seine-Saint-Denis County Council; Jean Mouette, Institute of Astrophysics, Paris

 

Outings (selection):
- Planetarium, Palais de la Découverte, Paris
- Astronomy and Astrophysics Halls, Palais de la Découverte, Paris

Participating schools:
- class 4e, collège ANATOLE FRANCE, PAVILLONS-SOUS-BOIS
- classe 3e, COLLÈGE JEAN JAURÈS, SAINT-OUEN
- class 4e, COLLÈGE CAMILLE CLAUDEL, VILLEPINTE

 

Scenography: ELODIE DESCOUBES

Photos: PIERRE ANTOINE

Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium

Planetarium

Depuis 2009, le Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis soutient « la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC) ». Cette démarche repose en grande partie sur la présence, en classe et pendant plusieurs semaines (40), d’un artiste ou d’un scientifique ayant pour mission d’engager les élèves dans un processus de recherche et de création. 

 

Intervenants: Virginie Batista, ALAIN RIAZUELO/ astrophysiciens IAP

Chargé de projetStéphane Coulaud

 

Objectifs:
Notre système solaire est-il unique ? Il serait étonnant que d’autres étoiles ne soient pas entourées de planètes et que toutes les planètes soient dénuées de vies. Les techniques actuelles ne permettent pas de détecter une autre Terre au voisinage d’une étoile, mais les recherches de planètes extra-solaires ont fait de grands progrès : à partir des données que possèdent les astrophysiciens, les élèves doivent concevoir un planétarium permettant de représenter et de comparer notre système avec d’autres plus éloignés.

Séances en atelier:
L’atelier est ouvert par une courte séquence introductive de questions-réponses entre l’intervenant et les élèves sur leurs représentations de ce qu’on entend par astrophysique et astronomie.
S’ensuit une longue séquence de travail portant sur le système solaire - pris comme une sorte « d’étalon astronomique » - et sur un système exoplanétaire. Recherches documentaires, calculs, descriptions écrites sont quelques-unes des étapes de travail qui ont rythmé cette phase. Parmi les milliers de systèmes exoplanétaires observables, les classes ont travaillé sur 3 d’entre eux : Trappist ; Kepler-11 et Kepler 90.

Chaque planète (Kepler-11b, Kepler-11c, Kepler-90b, Kepler-90c, etc.) de chaque système (Kepler-11 ou Kepler-90) a fait l’objet d’une fiche signalétique : identification du système (ex. Kepler-11) ; nom de la planète (ex. Kepler-11b) ; distance par rapport au soleil (ex. 0,091unité astronomique, soit 13,6 millions de km) ; rayon (ex. 1,8, soit 11 480km) et masse (ex. 1,9 masse terrestre) de la planète ; tailles de l’orbite (ex. 1,82m) et de la planète (ex. 0,31 cm) à l’échelle 1/7500000000 ; présence dans la zone habitable de l’étoile. Un court commentaire, sous la forme d’une description en quelques mots, complétait la fiche d’identité de chaque objet astronomique étudié.

À ce travail documentaire s’ajoutait un travail de calculs mathématiques, puisqu’il s’agissait aussi d’évaluer les distances séparant les planètes de l’étoile du système ou de calculer les distances, par exemple, entre les objets astronomiques des systèmes entre eux ou avec le système solaire. Cette approche calculatoire permettait aux élèves de se représenter des distances souvent perçues comme abstraites au regard de l’échelle humaine et terrestre.
Enfin, les fiches signalétiques étaient enrichies, en partie, de productions graphiques, nourries de vues d’artistes, proposées par les élèves. Les fiches ainsi renseignées ont ensuite été mises sur les tasseaux soutenant étoiles et planètes lors de l’installation de la restitution. 

Partager:
Du 2 au 6 juin 2017, la restitution des parcours Planétarium s’est tenue au parc départemental Georges-Valbon, sous la forme d’une installation au sol. Compte tenu des dimensions nécessaires pour une représentation à l’échelle réaliste (1:7500000000), l’espace vert de la Grande circulaire, elle-même située au centre du parc près de la maison Édouard-Glissant, a été choisi. Les orbites des quatre systèmes astronomiques ont été tracées au sol, puis matérialisées à l’aide de sangles de couleur jaune (Kepler-90), rouge (Trappist), bleu (Kepler-11) et blanc (système solaire). Les systèmes représentés ont été mis en place dès le 1er juin : quelques 1000 piquets en métal ont été plantés pour délimiter chaque système et les orbites matérialisées par quelques 5000 mètres de sangles.
Au cours d’une matinée entière, les élèves des 3 classes participantes ont finalisé l’installation. Ils ont placé sur les orbites les planètes et étoiles de chaque système sous la forme de tasseaux en bois sur lesquels étaient disposées des boules à l’échelle. La disposition était déterminée à partir de calculs préalablement faits en classe. Des tables d’orientation disposées à proximité de l’installation permettaient de situer les systèmes les uns par rapport aux autres.

Remerciements:
Hélène Lescure, Bureau Accueil et Promotion - Parc Départemental Georges-Valbon; Direction de la Nature; des Paysages et de la Biodiversité/ Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis; Marie Thibault, Technicienne Animatrice patrimoine et environnement; Parc départemental Georges-Valbon , Direction de la Nature, des Paysages et de la Biodiversité/ Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis; Jean Mouette, Institut d’astrophysique de Paris.

 

Sorties (sélection):
- Planétarium du Palais de la découverte, Paris
- Salles Astronomie et Astrophysique, Palais de la découverte, Paris

Collèges:
- classe de 4è, collège Anatole France, Pavillons-sous-Bois
- classe de 3è, COLLÈGE Jean Jaurès, Saint-Ouen
- classe de 4è, COLLÈGE Camille Claudel, Villepinte

 

Scénographie: ELODIE DESCOUBES

Photos: PIERRE ANTOINE

Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium
Planetarium