Cars

Since 2009, the Seine-Saint-Denis County Council has been backing “la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC)”. This project is based to a large extent on the presence in class for several weeks (40h) of an artist or scientist whose mission is to engage the students in a process of research and creation. 

 

Tutors: Gaëtan Barbé, JÉRÉMY GAUDIBERT, JULIETTE GELLI/ designers

Project manager: Anna Mezey

 

Objectives:
Designers know that during their working lives, they will alternate between their own, personal projects and unavoidable rites of passage. They are often apprehensive about the latter, as they test the designer’s creativity: chairs, tables, lamps, but also and above all, cars. 

Workshops:
Three Questions
To launch the project, the designer asks the students to keep three questions in mind: what is the car for? Who uses it? What do they want to do with it? Together, they then study automobile magazines, specialist reviews and adverts; they also observe the cars in the city or in the school car park. They classify them by type: classic car, coupé, MPV, delivery tricycle, Google car or even prototypes for open mobile objects. At the end of this phase, the students choose their favourite cars, the ones they hate and the ones they dream of driving.

Automobile Lab
The class has to draw up its own specifications. The designer points out the restrictions that define the designing of modern cars. In some cases, it involves seeing how this means of transport is part of today’s society, taking into consideration economic and ecological issues. The students start describing their different cars: “MOHK” uses biomass and solar energy; to make sure that nothing is wasted, fruit peel can be put in small holes in the wheels. The “Panel Transporter” is a one-person car for short trips (e.g. from home to the office), which runs on renewable energy. Then there’s the “BMWH 700”, a wind-powered car that takes in and then compresses the surrounding air. It is driven using a joystick or remotely voice-activated via wifi.

Thinking like a manufacturer
The next stage involves sketching the vehicles and then translating the sketches into technical plans and assemblages so that the students can make 1/16-scale models. To show the cars in action, the contributor proposes a photo capture featuring the cars. The photos are then integrated in stop motion animation. 

Outcome:
From 30th May to 9th June 2017, the National School of Industrial Design (l’École nationale supérieure de la création industrielle) hosted an exhibition showing the different projects for vehicles designed by the students and their contributor. More than 600 visitors came to see the texts, drawings and a stop motion video showing the cars in action.  

Acknowledgements: 
Yann Fabes, Head of ENSCI- les Ateliers; Margot Casimir, “Design & Diversity” project coordinator, ENSCI- les Ateliers.

 

Outings (selection) :
- "En Carosse ! " exhibition with Paul Arzens, Musée des Arts et Métiers (industrial design museum)
- Studio Superface and Numéro Design (creative workshop focusing on colours, materials and digital modelling), Guyancourt
- Conservatoire André Citroën, Aulnay-sous-Bois. Guided tour of the collection. 

Participating schools: 
- class 3è 3, collège PAUL LANGEVIN, DRANCY
- class 5è 7, COLLÈGE JEAN-BAPTISTE COROT, LE RAINCY
- class 5è A, COLLÈGE JEAN VILAR, VILLETANEUSE

 

Photos: PIERRE ANTOINE

Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars

Cars

Depuis 2009, le Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis soutient « la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC) ». Cette démarche repose en grande partie sur la présence, en classe et pendant plusieurs semaines (40h), d’un artiste ou d’un scientifique ayant pour mission d’engager les élèves dans un processus de recherche et de création.

 

Intervenants: Gaëtan Barbé, Jérémy Gaudibert, Juliette Gelli / designers

Chargée de projet: Anna Mezey

 

Objectifs:
Au cours de sa vie, un designer sait qu’il alternera des projets personnels et des passages obligés. Ces derniers sont souvent craints, car ils mettent sérieusement à l’épreuve l’inventivité de son auteur : la chaise, la table, la lampe, mais aussi et surtout la voiture.

Séances en atelier:
Trois fois une voiture
Pour lancer la démarche, le designer demande aux élèves de garder trois questions à l’esprit : à quoi sert une voiture ? Qui l’utilise ? Pour quoi faire ? Ensemble, ils se plongent ensuite dans des magazines d’automobiles, des revues spécialisées, regardent des publicités ; ils observent également les voitures en ville ou sur le parking du collège.  Ils font naître des typologies : voiture classique, coupé, monospace, triporteur, Google car, voire des prototype d'objet mobile ouvert etc. A la fin, chacun choisit sa voiture préférée, celle qu’il déteste, celle qu’il rêverait de conduire.

Laboratoire automobile
La classe doit élaborer son propre cahier des charges ; le designer insiste sur la particularité des contraintes qui définissent la conception des voitures modernes. Dans certains cas, il s’agit notamment de voir comment ce mode de transport s’inscrit dans la société actuelle en tenant compte des enjeux économiques et écologiques. Les élèves commencent à décrire leurs différentes voitures : « MOHK » fonctionne à l’énergie biomasse et solaire ; pour ne rien gaspiller, on peut mettre les épluchures de fruits dans des petits trous placés dans les roues. Le « Panneau transporteur » est un véhicule uni-personne à énergies renouvelables, il s’utilise pour les petits trajets (bureau-maison par exemple). Il y a encore le « BMWH 700 », voiture éolienne qui récupère l'air ambiant qui est ensuite comprimé. Elle est conduite au joystick ou à la voix, et à distance grâce au wifi.

Esprit constructeur
Viennent ensuite des dessins qui sont eux-mêmes traduits en plans techniques et d’assemblages, permettant aux élèves de fabriquer des maquettes à l’échelle 1/16ème. Pour montrer les voitures en action, l’intervenant propose à la classe une captation photo qui les met en scène. Les photos sont ensuite intégrées en stop-motion. 

Partager:
Du 30 mai au 9 juin 2017, l’École nationale supérieure de la création industrielle a accueilli une exposition montrant les différents projets de véhicules conçues par les élèves et leur intervenant. Plus de 600 visiteurs ont ainsi pu découvrir des textes, des dessins, et surtout une vidéo en stop-motion permettant de voir toutes les voitures en action.

Remerciements :
Yann Fabes, directeur de l’ENSCI- les ateliers; Margot Casimir, coordonnatrice du projet « Design et Diversité » à l’ENSCI- les ateliers.

 

Sorties (sélection):
- L’exposition « En carosse ! » avec Paul Arzens, Musée des arts et métiers
- « Autophoto » à Fondation Cartier. Visite guidée de l’exposition.
- Studio Superface et Numéro Design (Atelier créatif autour de couleurs, matières, modelage numérique), Guyancourt
- Conservatoire André Citroën, Aulnay-sous-Bois. Visite guidée de la collection.

Collèges :
- classe 3è 3, Collège Paul Langevin, Drancy
- classe 5è 7, COLLÈGE Jean-Baptiste Corot, Le Raincy
- classe 5è A, COLLÈGE Jean Vilar, Villetaneuse

 

Photos: PIERRE ANTOINE

Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars
Cars