Pantone food

Since 2009, the Seine-Saint-Denis County Council has been backing “la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC)”. This project is based to a large extent on the presence in class for several weeks (40h) of an artist or scientist whose mission is to engage the students in a process of research and creation. 

 

Tutors: Jonathan Piard, Tom Gérard-Hirne, Thomas Bidaud, Marianne Kjellberg, Fayna Mammeri/ chemists

Project manager: Stéphane Coulaud

 

Objectives: 
Firstly, the classes learn how chemistry works to isolate as many colours in nature as possible. Obviously, we think of green, red and orange, but where are all the other colours hiding and how can we obtain them? Then, the students and their contributor tackle the task, using the Pantone colour chart for inspiration, of offering a series of sweet and savoury foods for tasting.

Workshop:
Natural dyes
The workshop is organised in two phases. During the first half of the workshop, the students discover the colouring properties of various foods: beetroot, carrot, red cabbage, parsley, spinach, cherry, bell pepper, etc. They learn to recognise the molecules (anthocyanins, carotene, chlorophyll, lycopene, etc.) that give food their colour and to test the ways that can be used to extract their active substances.

From extraction to stabilisation
Protocols are set up for each type of food and desired colour. Decoction and infusion in aqueous, acid or alkaline environments, centrifugation tests, etc. give different results depending on the desired intensity of the dye. An experiment is conducted on the various colours obtained from the same food – red cabbage. Later, the challenge consists of reinvesting this solution for use in food and learning how to obtain a colour chart that is as rich as possible using plants.

Edible colours
The workshop then focuses on using colours, particularly in food preparations. The students take it in turns to prepare hot and cold foods, drinks (soft drinks, cocktails and milkshakes), sweets and treats. After experimenting, a menu is compiled to prepare for the final rendition.

Outcome:
On the occasion of the school “Open Day”, the students organised a demonstration. The programme included making sweet, coloured jellies (spinach, red pepper, lemon and cherry), soft drinks, carrot-coloured milk, lemonade dyed with red cabbage and a colour chart made from beetroot juice. Other demonstrations involved creating colours to match the Pantone colour chart. The final result matched the reference Pantone 1795 with an infusion of berries; an infusion of green tea (Pantone 613) gave a solution matching Pantone 132; and an infusion of red cabbage (Pantone 2612) gave a solution matching Pantone 2768. 

Acknowledgements: Sophie Griveau, École nationale supérieure de chimie de Paris

 

Outings (selection):
- Chemistry workshop, Palais de la découverte

Participating schools:
- Class 4 Segpa, Collège Le Clos-Saint-Vincent, Noisy-le-Grand
- Class 4 Segpa, Collège Jean-Zay, Bondy
- Class 3, Collège Picasso, Montfermeil
- Class 3, Collège Claudel, Villepinte
- Class 3, Collège Saint-Exupéry, Noisy-le-Grand

Pantone Food

Depuis 2009, le Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis soutient « la Culture et l’Art au Collège (CAC) ». Cette démarche repose en grande partie sur la présence, en classe et pendant plusieurs semaines (40h), d’un artiste ou d’un scientifique ayant pour mission d’engager les élèves dans un processus de recherche et de création. 

 

Intervenants: Jonathan Piard, Tom Gérard-Hirne, Thomas Bidaud, Marianne Kjellberg, Fayna Mammeri/ chimistes

Chargé de projet: Stéphane Coulaud

 

Objectifs:
Dans un premier temps, les classes vont apprendre comment la chimie s’y prend pour isoler le plus grand nombre possible de couleurs présentes dans la nature. On pense bien sûr au vert, au rouge à l’orange, mais où se cachent donc les autres couleurs et comment les obtenir ? Ensuite, à charge pour les élèves et leur intervenant, en s’inspirant du nuancier Pantone, de proposer une série d’aliments salés et sucrés à déguster.


Séances en atelier:
Nature et colorants
L’atelier est organisé en deux temps. Pendant la première moitié de l’atelier, les élèves ont découvert le pouvoir colorant de différents aliments : la betterave ; la carotte ; le chou rouge ; le persil ; les épinards ; la cerise ; le poivron, etc. Il s’agit ici de connaître les molécules (anthocyane, carotène, chlorophylle, lycopène, etc.) qui apportent la couleur aux aliments et de tester les méthodes que l’on peut mettre en œuvre pour en extraire les principes actifs.

De l’extraction à la stabilisation
Pour chaque type d’aliment et de couleur désirée, des protocoles sont mis en place. Décoction et infusion en milieux aqueux, alcalin ou acide, essai de centrifugation, etc. donnent des résultats différents selon que l’on veut une intensité plus ou moins soutenue de la teinte. Une expérience est menée sur les différentes couleurs obtenues à partir d’un même aliment : le chou rouge. Plus tard, le défi consiste à réinvestir cette solution à des fins alimentaires et savoir obtenir un nuancier chromatique le plus riche possible à partir de végétaux.

Les couleurs se mangent
L’atelier se concentre maintenant sur l’utilisation des couleurs, et tout particulièrement dans des préparations alimentaires. Les élèves réalisent tour à tour des réparations chaudes et froides, des boissons (sodas, cocktails, milk shakes), des bonbons et des friandises. A l’issue des essais, un projet de menu est arrêté en vue de la restitution finale.

Partager:
Lors des journées « Portes ouvertes » du collège, les élèves ont organisé une démonstration.
Au programme : fabrication de gelées sucrées et colorées (épinards, poivron rouge, citron, cerise), création de boissons minute (sodas) lait couleur carotte ; limonade au chou rouge ; nuancier obtenu à partir de jus de betterave. D’autres démonstrations consistaient en la fabrication de couleurs répondant au nuancier Pantone : le résultat final proposait la référence Pantone 1795 à partir d’une infusion de baie rouge ; Infusion de thé vert (Pantone 613) donne une solution répondant à Pantone 132 ; Infusion de chou rouge (Pantone 2612) donne une solution répondant à Pantone 2768.

Remerciements à Sophie Griveau, École nationale supérieure de chimie de Paris

 

Sorties (sélection):
- ATELIER DE CHIMIE, PALAIS DE LA DÉCOUVERTE

Collèges:
- Classe de 4e Segpa, collège Le Clos-Saint-Vincent, Noisy-le-Grand
- Classe de 4e Segpa, COLLÈGE Jean-Zay, Bondy
- Classe de 3e, COLLÈGE Picasso, Montfermeil
- Classe de 3e, COLLÈGE Claudel, Villepinte
- Classe de 3e, COLLÈGE Saint-Exupéry, Noisy-le-Grand