Images - Mémoires

County-based project in image education (PEI) of 80h.
Project initiated by the “Culture et art au college” Mission (MICACO).

 

Tutors: Perin Emez Yavul, art historian, associate of the Centre de recherches sur les « Arts et le langage » (CRAL-EHESS) 

Chargée de projet: Anna Mezey

 

Objectives:
This project enables students to explore some of the relationships our society has with images, especially images of the past. Using a photographic collection from the National Archives (Pierrefitte site), an art historian shares her methods with students; in the process, she explains to the class what a picture can say and how images are very often related to other fields of knowledge (history, philosophy, arts, etc.).

Workshop:
Yesterday for Today
Before the project got underway, the contributor selected some photographs from among more than 8000 pictures in the collection of the Propaganda Department of the High Commission for Youth and Sport (under the Vichy Government). Approximately fifty photographs were selected for the project in class. The students and the historian investigate this little-known subject. The initial discussions between the contributor and the class cover several points: what is an archive? How to look at a picture, what meaning does a picture have? Etc.

Seeing, observing and classifying
Once they have begun a rigorous classification process, the contributor invites the students to express themselves freely about the photos chosen for the project. The class then tackles the major task of interpreting the pictures, learning to sort, classify and observe the contents. They take charge of the documents to observe and describe what they can see in them, look for clues (who, what, when, where) and analyse the situations. 

Understanding and interpreting
The students then pick out themes by comparing the images, types of images, activities, etc. The aim is to appropriate more fully this set of pictures as a whole – what does it say about the period? This is also the moment when the class attempts to connect the images to each other and to other fields of knowledge. They investigate the context and the history; they research numerous sources so that they can reproduce the moment the picture was taken. Some of these sessions take the form of a correspondence between the researcher and the class leading to a dialogue via postcards.

In front of your eyes
In this final phase, the students choose to focus on a few photos. Together, they attempt to penetrate the depths of these fragments of time, exploring the details, to try and extract the stories surrounding these testimonies. With the encouragement of the contributor, they provide their own analyses and prepare their final rendition.

Outcome:
From 8th – 24th June 2016, the hall of the National Archives in Pierrefitte-sur-Seine hosted the students’ work on this period of the Vichy Government. The scenography enabled the public to follow the students’ research through a choice of photographs, analyses and discussions.

 

Outings:
- TO UNDERSTAND HOW THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES WORK, A SERIES OF VISITS TOOK PLACE TO BOTH THE PIERREFITTE-SUR-SEINE SITE AND TO THE ARCHIVES IN PARIS, WHERE THE STUDENTS MET ARCHIVISTS, HISTORIANS, BOOKBINDERS, RESTORERS, ETC.
- TRIP TO THE EXHIBITION “LE SECRET DE L’ÉTAT, SURVEILLER, PROTÉGER, INFORMER. XVIIE-XXE SIÈCLE” (THE STATE’S SECRET; SURVEILLANCE, PROTECTION, INFORMATION. 17TH - 20TH CENTURY), PARIS.

Participating school:
- Class 4e 9, Collège Robespierre, Epinay-sur-Seine

 

Photo and layout: ELODIE DESCOUBES

Images - Mémoires
Images - Mémoires
Images - Mémoires

Images - Mémoires

Plan départemental d’éducation à l’image (PEI) de 80h. 
Démarche initiée par la mission « Culture et art au collège » (MICACO).

 

Intervenantes: Perin Emez Yavul, historienne de l’art, associée au Centre de recherches sur les « Arts et le langage » (CRAL-EHESS)

Chargée de projet: Anna Mezey

 

Objectifs:
Le projet permet aux élèves d’expérimenter certaines des relations que notre société entretient avec les images notamment celles du passé. À partir d’un fonds photographique conservé aux Archives nationales (site de Pierrefitte), une historienne de l’art partage ses méthodes avec les élèves ; se faisant, elle explique à la classe ce que peut dire une image et comment les images se trouvent le plus souvent en rapport avec d’autres sphères de savoirs (histoire, philosophie, arts, etc).

Séances en atelier:
Hier pour aujourd’hui
Parmi plus de 8000 clichés issus du fonds du Service de propagande du Haut Commissariat à la Jeunesse et aux Sports (sous le Gouvernement de Vichy), une sélection de photographies a été effectuée en amont par l’intervenante. Une cinquantaine a été retenue pour le projet en classe. Les élèves et l’historienne se plongent dans cette matière peu connue. Les premiers échanges entre l’intervenante et la classe portent sur plusieurs points : qu’est-ce qu’une archive ? Comment regarder une image ? Quel sens à une image ? Etc. 

Voir, observer, classer
Avant d’entamer un classement rigoureux, l’intervenante invite les élèves à s’exprimer librement sur les photos retenues pour le projet. La classe débute ensuite un important travail de lecture d’images en apprenant à trier, à classer et à observer les contenus. Ils prennent en main les documents pour observer et décrire ce qu’ils y voient, pour repérer des indices (qui ? quoi ? quand ? où ?), analyser des situations.

Comprendre et interpréter
Les élèves dégagent ensuite des thématiques en comparant les images, les types d’images, les activités, etc. L’enjeu est de s’approprier davantage cet ensemble d’images : que dit-il de son temps ? C’est aussi le moment où la classe tente de relier les images entre elles et celui où s’invitent d’autres savoirs : ils enquêtent sur le contexte, l’histoire ; ils convoquent de nombreuses sources afin de resituer le moment de l’image. Une partie de ces séances prend la forme d’une correspondance entre la chercheuse et la classe : naissance d’un dialogue à partir de cartes postales.

Une image sous les yeux
Dans cette dernière phase, les élèves se concentrent volontairement sur quelques photos. Ensemble, ils s’attachent à pénétrer dans l’épaisseur de ces fragments de temps, à en explorer les détails, pour tenter d’extirper l’histoire à laquelle appartiennent ces témoignages. Encouragés par l’intervenante, ils fournissent leurs propres analyses et préparent ainsi la restitution finale.

Partager:
Du 8 au 24 juin 2016, le hall du site des Archives Nationales de Pierrefitte-sur-Seine accueille le travail des élèves sur cette période du Gouvernement de Vichy. Une scénographie permet au public de suivre les recherches de la classe à travers un choix de photographies, d’analyses et de réflexions.

 

Sorties:
- visites DES ARCHIVES NATIONALES sur le site de Pierrefitte-sur-Seine et sur celui de Paris : rencontre avec des archivistes, des historiens, des relieurs, des restaurateurs, etc.
- Visite de l’exposition « Le secret de l’État, surveiller, protéger, informer. XVIIe-XXe siècle », site de Paris.

Collège:
- Classe de 4e 9, collège Robespierre, Epinay-sur-Seine

 

Photo et scénographie: ELODIE DESCOUBES

Images - Mémoires
Images - Mémoires
Images - Mémoires